Patchwork belt

dsc01565The inspired authors over at Sew, Mama, Sew! had a great tutorial on making these slip belts.

I don’t have a large stash of fabric, so I pulled bits from here and there. Old curtains, Halloween costume remnants and scraps at the bottom of my fabric bin. I used felt instead of batting since I had it on hand. It made it nice and sturdy, but a bit thick.

Critique

The only thing I would alter from the tutorial is to leave only a small gap to turn the belt right-side-out with. The instructions leave about 10 inches to turnĀ  and then fold, iron and stitch together. I’m not very precise with my ironing, so I always have weird placesĀ  where the folded edges don’t meet up.

Tip

Use a wooden chopstick to turn the belt right-side-out with.

Time

A little under an hour.

Eleanor loves it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

