Pettiskirt Success!

I used 4 yards for the light pink skirt, and 5 yards for the fuchsia ruffle-fluff. If I had to do it again, I’d use around 8 yards for the fluff, and 6 for the skirt. I wasn’t happy with the see-through-ness of the skirt and would have liked it to be a bit fuller. I pulled the how-to’s and some great tips from this forum:

http://sewmamasew.com/forum/index.php?topic=242.0

This was a once in a life-time project. (meaning, I’ll never do it again!) It took me about 10 hours.

A note: These pictures were taken before the skirt was laundered. It actually looks better (more crinkly and limp) after going through the wash…at least I think so.

3 Responses

  1. Wow! You used alot more chiffon than I thought you would need. What size did you make the skirt? I was thinking of making another and was wondering if I have enough.
    BTW- your skirt looks fantastic!!! I love the contrasting rf color. Great choice.

  2. Irene, My daughter is a small 5-year-old. Its length was 20″ (4″ for the silk, 8″ for the top tier, and 8″ for the bottom tier) because I want it to last as she gets taller. The ruffle fluff is where the fullness comes from. I cut 2.5″ strips out of 5 yards and used it all. The waist was the width of the silk chiffon and gathered with elastic to fit her waist. I followed the detailed instructions on the Sew, Mama, Sew forum and they were perfect. Thanks for the compliments!

  3. Looks Great!!! I am working on my right now.

Leave a Reply

