Research 2: Setting goals

Chapter 1 from The Handmade Marketplace

“Setting some clear goals regarding why you want to sell your crafts will help you make some very important decisions along the way.”

I have never been good at setting goals for myself. Mostly, because I like to succeed without working too hard. Me =super competitive, but lazy = not setting too high a standard. I get a general idea and direction and have the self-discipline to see things through, but I’ve never been a fan of setting myself a failure mark. I guess I need a shift in thinking.

A goal is a way to make decisions. And I need lots of help being decisive. So, let me answer the questions Kari asks in chapter 1.

  • Why do I want to start selling my crafts? I want a wider reach. I love it when folks study my details and special touches, and express joy at what they find! I want more people to enjoy and know me through my creations. This means making a truckload of money isn’t what is going to drive me…never has.
  • What are my monetary goals? I’d like to not lose money. heh. My whole life I have sewn and given things away. The idea that someone would buy those things is mind boggling. I have a hard time setting this goal. Mind block to making profit! So lets say, I’ll see… Right now, I have some friends who have said they’ll help me set prices since I tend to undercut myself. What can I say? I’m cheap, so I think everyone else is too!!
  • What does my idea of success look like? How will I know when I’ve achieved it? I’d like to get to a point where I”m selling an item a week. Then, re-evaluate.
  • Do I have enough free time to devote to selling my work? yes
  • Do I have the tools I need at hand to begin selling what I make? yes
  • Do I have a support system in place for taking on this venture? yes
  • What are my biggest fears? That I am not friendly enough to network and advertise. That I’ll have to up my comfort level to meet new people. That I’ll piss someone off for buying something I’ve made and being disappointed in it.
  • What excites me the most about starting a business? Making things to sell. I love to create!!

So far, I’ve:

  1. Made a simple name card and re-directed my domain name to my blog. Need to get these printed!
  2. Set up Etsy shop. that’s it. Need to do more reading on tips and advice!
  3. Making “nancy” smocks, wine bags and Lizbags. Ordered great fabric! Getting lots of inspiration for items to specialize.
  4. Finished chapter 1 and marching on to chapter2!
  5. Need to look into sew-in tags.
2 Responses

  1. I LOVE that logo. And that you said “piss.” You are not alone! There are dozens of us! Dozens! Crap, I brought attention to it.

    I would buy your stuff. Maybe I will.

  2. dozens, eh? 🙂

Leave a Reply

