On stupidity and burning fleece on the iron…

I’m sure we’ve all done it… At least, I tell myself that so I don’t feel as stupid… Taken a freakin’ hot iron to fabric that can’t take the heat. Wimpy fusible fleece… As soon as I pulled the iron away, strings of glue and wispy white threads followed my movements off the board to the iron stand, like hot glue.

“Ah, crap!”

This resulted.

Knowing I have piles of pieces to fuse today, with no vehicle to run to the store for a new iron, I binged. That’s ed, Microsoft’s new, amazing search engine! (Why yes! My husband works for Microsoft, why do you ask?) How to clean crap off the bottom of your iron? Many suggestions, only one worked for my experiment in stupidity.

Oven Cleaner…This stuff is scary strong. It will melt the plastic, so its important to tape off the non-steel parts. Spray and ignore for 20. Outside, unless you can afford losing more brain cells.

“Wah-la!”

Wipe away.

Its like picking a scab. Clean as new. Happy ironing!

5 Responses

  1. I thought you said you binged (n. a period or bout, usually brief, of excessive indulgence) on a new iron, hahaha.

    Oh I know I’m a bad niece.

    That’s awesome about the oven cleaner though.

  2. If it makes you feel any better, I have (accidentally) fused fusible fleece to the ironing board on more than one occasion 🙂

  3. Glad you shared, now I will know if I do that…and I’m sure I will. Happy Ironing!

  4. That is handy info. I’m sure I’ll need it in the near future. I do some pretty silly stuff.

    p.s. I like the little scab picking visual.

  5. WHOA! I want to try this. Our iron is getting kind of nasty.

Leave a Reply

