Tatted Necklaces? Whaa?

I saw this picture in one of the design blogs I follow daily. They took my breath away. These lovelies were made by lennebelle, but I can’t find any more information about it. I guess I’ll have to trial and error a pattern.

Family and long-time friends know I have a thing for tatting! About  15 years ago, my roommate Julie introduced me to tatting, or maybe it was her mother? Anyway, I found an 80-year-old woman in Michigan who knew how to do it, and she showed me the basic stitches in a very 80-year-old way.

“Cross this thread, pull it through here, go under here, and pull tight. Got it?”

“Uh…”

I had to watch her do it for about 10 minutes to see what she was actually talking about. Then she watched me and corrected me as I went. It is beautiful lace, but very slow going. My mother-in-law, who has attempted every form of stitching I think, had two vintage how-to-tat magazines that had beautiful vintage trim, baby and doily patterns she gave me, and I enjoyed the craft for about 5 years, then tired of it and moved on.

Here I am on a film shoot in Brazil tatting away in between takes!

2 Responses

  1. I love those! Thanks for all the crafting tips and ideas…even though you are much more skilled than I…maybe one day. I gave you a blogging award today on my blog!

  2. Pretty necklace. I have a pair of tatted earrings that I don’t wear too often, but always get tons of compliments when I do wear them. I also like to tat with beads and pearls. One of the books in my library is “Tatting with Beads II” by Rosemarie Peel. It has beautiful necklaces, bracelets, and other designs using beads with the tatting. The publisher is Lacet Publications and was printed in England. My source for tatting books and supplies is Handy Hands, Inc. Their website is http://www.hhtatting.com.

    I teach tatting at Quilt and Sewing Center in Fredericksburg, VA. We mail supplies to anyone, so if there is a book or other tatting notion that you are unable to find elsewhere, let me know and we can see how we may be able to help you.

    By the way, another spectacular book is “Tatting Rings of Flowers” by Mary Maynard. It has over 100 different tatted flowers with lots of variations and suggestions on using them. This is the book that I require my students to buy as a Tatting Textbook for my classes. I’ve been tatting for 55 years and there were things in that book that I had never seen before – very interesting.

Leave a Reply

