Baby Basket

When my dad passed away six years ago, I was 6 months pregnant. My sister, Kanda,  sequestered a basket she spotted at the memorial service that was filled with green plants. To her eye, it was the perfect size for a newborn! So she cleaned it, and lined the sides with white, fluffy fleece and made a removable pad and sheet for the bottom mattress. She gave it to me for Eleanor, and Eleanor used it exclusively for about 2 months before outgrowing it for a larger vintage portable carry-all bed. Henry, my second baby also used the basket, but he only slept in it for a month.  Since then, this keepsake from my father’s memorial has held stuffed animals, kittens (not for long before I put a stop to that!) and plastic babies. I had pulled all the fleece liner off. My sister had hot glued it, so it came off easy. And we were just using it around the house as a large catch-all. But, now number three baby is due soon.

So, after a good detergent bath, it was time to whip it back into baby duty. This time around, I used a pale flower fabric and used elastic and fusible fleece to ensure I could take the liner off and on for washing. I also made a matching, fitted sheet for the mattress pad.

4 Responses

  1. Whatever, we all know Henry never went to sleep at all. He went to cry.

    It looks awesome!

  2. What a lovely bed for your little one. Adorable.

  3. It looks brand new. By the way, this basket was used for both of my kids, during their first few months of life.

  4. Terrific job! I love the colors.

Leave a Reply

