Calico Burleighware

When I was a little girl, a friend’s family used a collection of Calicoware and Ironstone for their dishes. I loved eating at their place because of those dishes! Since my everyday dishes are in terrible shape, I’ve decided to start my own eclectic collection. I researched the history of this design, and discovered it is still made in Burleigh, England. It comes in many patterns and colors and dishes. One day, I’ll have to order straight from England to fill out my table, but until then it is so fun to find a plate or cup in antique stores! I feel like I found buried treasure. I picked a 10″ plate up yesterday from the first shop I entered. I saw it as I entered the store. Unbelievable. I picked up a cherry plate a  a viney tree plate too.

Blue and White China

Blue Calico

Burleigh Pottery

3 Responses

  1. Yay, I love the cherries!

  2. Hello,
    I stumbled upon your blog when I searched for the blue and white cherry dinnerware. I followed your links but am unable to find the cherry plates. Can you give me any information about them. My mother found one at a garage sale and loves it. I wanted to find some pieces to add to her collection.
    Thank you so much for your time and help.
    Kim

Leave a Reply

