Chaos in the Kitchen

Take a good look at this picture.


Here’s what I see:

  1. An unfinished bottle. That means a cranky baby to complicate life later.
  2. Red plaid shorts on the counter. That means a fresh change of clothes for Henry’s Kindergarten Orientation meeting in 2 hours.
  3. Super tired husband. He’s been living on 6 or less hours of sleep each night. He keeps going…and going…and going.
  4. Phone on counter with ongoing message chat about living room rug from Craig’s list in TACOMA! (How the heck and I going to get to Tacoma to get that thing?! We worked it out.)
  5. Outlets with no face plates. I’m convinced our electrician is an addict. He was supposed to be done weeks ago. Every word out of his mouth is a lie.
  6. Teal t-shirt on counter. This is paranoid mommy at her best…an extra set of clothes for Eleanor. Thank goodness! She slipped on the zip line across the creek and came home wearing the neighbor boy’s shorts! Glad I thought ahead on that one.
  7. Bottle of vinegar on the sink. This was meant for the bathtub. Which still. isn’t. clean.

This house has been more stressful than I thought it would be. I’ve been monster mommy the last few weeks. As I drove for an hour and a half to get that dang rug yesterday, I began to sing to myself. “The joy of the Lord is my strength.” As I did, I confessed I have no idea what that means. There has been very little joy the last week; just a lot of trudging hard work and bad attitude. And I have felt weak. I’ve had very little strength to be patient or kind or longsuffering with the little people in my life. I’ve had no joy nor strength. So I asked God to give both to me.

That’s all. Just a little transparent reality in the midst of sometimes deceiving remodeling pictures.

5 Responses

  1. 🙂

  2. That’s short for “I have felt your pain!”

  3. I do the exact same thing with the “The Joy of the Lord is my Strength” song! It helps. I don’t think it has anything to do with having my own joy or my own strength…more like if I had the joy of the Lord then I would have strength or a better outlook. It’s funny how constantly it’s in my brain lately. I must really need it! 🙂

  4. Aww – yeah its hard with kids + housing projects = frustrations

  5. Thanks all. Moving in helps a lot as well.

Leave a Reply

