Garden show off

I didn’t have a garden last year because of the remodel work. It was killing me! This garden plot was a weed area for the previous owner. It was covered in comfrey (devil weed), dandelions, butterfly bushes, poppies and morning glories. A few redeeming factors: This arch is now covered in Marion berries. The site gets FULL sun. It tucks in perfectly between the grape arbor and back lawn. arch

I couldn’t wait to start planning this year, and started to design and till the soil in March. Of course, a full till of the soil cut all the morning glory vines into millions of little vines that I will battle until kingdom come, but it needed one good till. We won’t till it again, instead use cover crops to work the soil each year.

WP_20130316_001

This is the progression from my kitchen window. I laid black plastic between the beds for weed control on the paths. I am using raised beds without boxes. We just piled up the dirt high for the beds and lower for the paths.

WP_20130321_001

Wood chips lay over the plastic. By April things were starting to green up.

WP_20130509_001

I have a bed of potatoes under the straw bed right by the arch. I’ve failed at getting a good crop from potato towers, so I’m trying the old-fashioned way of piling up straw around the plants.

WP_20130602_001

By June we were swimming in lettuce and the beans are to the tops of the teepees!

WP_20130628_001Time for the carrots and first planting of lettuce to come out to make way for the tomatoes.

WP_20130628_003

 

Leave a Reply

